To help carry out the operational mission of the council, the council territory is divided geographically into districts.  The objectives of the district are to expand opportunities for youth to join Scouting, and to help existing chartered organizations and their units provide a quality program for their youth.


Each district has a district board consisting of all council members residing within that district, chartered organization representatives, and district members at large who are elected by the district committee.  The district committee elects a district chairman, vice chairman and other district committee members.  The operating committee members are specialists in such areas as training, camping, and finance and they help units when their specific services are required. Districts also have a district commissioner who is approved by the council executive board on the recommendation of the district nominating committee.  The district commissioner staff serves units directly by assigned unit commissioners.  The commissioner staff also conducts roundtable for Cub Scout, Boy Scout and Venturing leaders.




The district executive, district chairman and the district commissioner comprise the district “Key 3 ” which meets weekly to assure proper coordination of the work of the district.